Fisheries Standard

Fisheries Standard

The RFM Standards are reviewed annually as a matter of process and procedure.  At a minimum, there will be a full review and/or reissue every five years.


The Alaska RFM Fishery Standard Version 2.0 is the standard in use since May 2018.  The new V2.0 will be used for all new fisheries that wish to be certified and for fisheries seeking re-certification to the Alaska RFM program from May 1, 2018.

Fishery Standard V2.0

Scoring Guidance for V2.0

Data Deficient Fisheries Scoring Guidance V2.0


The Alaska RFM Fishery Standard Version 1.3 is the outgoing standard.

Fishery Standard V1.3

Scoring Guidance for V1.3

Data Deficient Fisheries Scoring Guidance for V1.3



Certified Fisheries can choose to use the new V1.3 Standard immediately but will be given a period of at least three years to come into compliance with revised fishery standard V1.3. Surveillance audits for existing certified fisheries will continue to be against RFM V1.2 (the outgoing standard) until January 2019 unless the Fishery specifically requests an assessment against the new RFM V1.3 Standard.

Fishery Standard V1.2
Scoring Guidance for V1.2